College of Engineering Student Organizations

Student organizations at UTSA Engineering are some of the most active organizations on campus, working together to strengthen their professional and personal development as future engineers .

Governed by The University of Texas at San Antonio's College of Engineering Student Council, engineering student organizations serve and promote interaction among students and the engineering community, and cultivate an active student body to encourage pride and tradition.

Get involved in one of the student organizations listed below, or start your own. Either way, your participation will boost your experience as a student at UTSA and your future as a professional.

A-Z Organization List

Professional Societies

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
President: Peter Reyes
Faculty Advisor: Harry Millwater
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
President: Gerardo Romero
Vice President: Jose Lopez
Treasurer: Phillip Gutierrez
Corresponding Secretary: Delmy Reyes
Public Relations: Jerry He
Faculty Advisor: Manuel Diaz
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
Faculty Advisor: Randy Manteufel
American Society of Mechanical Engineers
President: Manuel Lechuga
VP of Communication: Richard Skinner
VP of Finance: Peter Mancuso
VP of Administration: Michael Bruins
VP of Membership: Jordan Taylor
Faculty Advisor: Yesh Singh
Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES)
President: Marcello Pilia
Faculty Advisor: Joo L. Ong
College of Engineering Student Council
President: Josh Lademora
Pro-temp VP of Business Affairs: Daniella Lerma
VP of Student Affairs: Carlos Aguiluz
VP of Student Affairs: Steven Pham
Faculty Advisor:
Engineers Without Borders
President: Kirstin Dreiss
Project Manager: Dustin Vasquez
Treasurer: Rhea Felix
Secretary: Gerry Romero
Faculty Advisor: Heather Shipley
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Chairman: Devon Johnson
Vice Chairman: Michael Starkweather
Secretary: Fabio Gomez
Treasurer: Dylan Caswell
Events Coordinator: Carl Novan
Robotics Chairman: Chris Pitts
Parts Bin Manager: Mike McMean
Parts Bin Co-Manager: Alex Roberts
Webmaster: Chris Lewis
COESC Representative: Daniel Maines
Technical Director: Terry Leonard
Program Director: Joelle Lawson
Faculty Advisor: Yufang Jin
Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE)
President: Christopher Reyes
Vice President: Ahmed Zaidi
Webmaster: Miguel Sauceda
Faculty Advisor: Jose Weissmann
Society for Biomaterials
President: Arpan Satsangi
Graduate Vice President: Lisa Actis
Secretary-Treasurer: Sarah Boukhris
Undergraduate Vice President: Kristin Reddoch
Public Relations Chair: Lauren Cornell
Social Chair: Bianca Cerqueira
Society for Marketing Professional Services
President: Brianna Garcia
Faculty Advisor: Manuel Diaz
National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
President: Misha Newsome
Vice President: Reginald Vaughn
Treasurer and Public Relations: David Willis
Senator 1: Terrence Nwokarie
Senator 2: Demarcus Lewis
Secretary: Justin Ernest
Faculty Advisor: Brian Kelley
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
President: Sean Roy
Lead Design: Daniel Pinto
Director of Construction: Robert Alaniz
Operations Manager: Cale Funderburk
Chief Fiscal Officer: Hwansung Kang
Faculty Advisor: Brent Nowak
Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE)
President: Delmy Reyes
Vice President: Carlos Aguiluz
Secretary: Robert Erazo
Public Relations: Blake Perales
Faculty Advisor: Manuel Diaz
Faculty Advisor: Efstathios Michaelides
Society of Manufacturing Engineers
President: Thomas Fawcett
Faculty Advisor: Can Saygin
Society of Mexican American Engineers and Scientists (MAES)
President: Adam Sanchez
Vice President of Outreach: Clarissa Hernandez
Executive Vice President: Justin Marmolejo
Secretary: Victor Castillo
Treasurer: Victor Cardona
Public Relations: Ivana Q. Escobar
Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
President: Katie Schwille
Vice President: Jessica Flynn
Treasurer: Stephanie Tse
Membership Coordinator: Laura Oranaday
Faculty Advisor: Ruyan Guo
Texas Society of Professional Engineers (TSPE)
Faculty Advisor: John Simonis

Honor Societies

Tau Beta Pi
President: Eric Johnson
Faculty Advisor: Lars Hansen
Eta Kappa Nu
President: Joelle Lawson
Vice President: Anne Margret Cellen Caverte
Treasurer: Ahmed El-Sherif
Coor. Secretary: Craig Cobabe
Rec. Secretary: Open
Webmaster: Alex Roberts
Faculty Advisor: Eugene John

Back to top

UTSA Student Activities

If you are interested in starting a chapter of an engineering-related student organization or to re-register your current organization, please visit the UTSA Student Activities website.

Meetings and Special Events

The College of Engineering Student Council Calendar lists events, meetings and outings of participating engineering student organizations.

Special Events, such as competitions or seminars, are posted to the UTSA Engineering Calendar of Events whenever possible.

Attn: Engineering Student Organizations

If your organization is hosting a special event and would like to include it on the UTSA Engineering Calendar of Events, we invite you to submit your event using the Calendar of Events Notice form.

Warning: main(undergraduate/sidebar.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /Library/WebServer/Documents/student-organizations.php on line 192

Warning: main() [function.include]: Failed opening 'undergraduate/sidebar.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:') in /Library/WebServer/Documents/student-organizations.php on line 192