UTSA Downtown Campus 20th anniversary celebration

Twenty years ago this fall, UTSA opened the doors of its Downtown Campus. The establishment of a campus in the heart of the city signified the university’s commitment to the community, bringing access to high quality college education and career advancement opportunities to diverse populations in the downtown area. In addition to honoring its past, the Downtown Campus anniversary program will explore future opportunities for UTSA to serve as a model urban-serving university and contributor to San Antonio’s cultural and economic ecosystem.


3 p.m.: UTSA’s Role in San Antonio: Past and Present
Taylor Eighmy, UTSA President
Ron Nirenberg, San Antonio Mayor
Nelson Wolff, Bexar County Judge

Panel: Evolution of the Downtown Campus
Albert Kauffman, professor of law, St. Mary’s University School of Law
Leticia Van de Putte, former State Senator
Jude Valdez, UTSA Vice President for Community Services
Jesse Zapata, UTSA Senior Vice Provost for Academic & Faculty Support
Rogelio Saenz, dean of the UTSA College of Public Policy (moderator)

Tribute to the late State Senator Gregory Luna
José Menéndez, State Senator

5 p.m.: Keynote Address: The Role of Universities and Cities: Shaping the Future
Julián Castro, former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development and former mayor of San Antonio

Panel: Reimagining the Downtown Campus, Possibilities and Opportunities
Taylor Eighmy, UTSA President
Sheryl Sculley, San Antonio City Manager
Jenna Saucedo-Herrera, president/CEO, San Antonio Economic Development Foundation
Lorenzo Gomez, chairman and former CEO, Geekdom
Margo DelliCarpini, Dean of the UTSA College of Education and Human Development

Closing Remarks
Shirley Gonzalez, Councilwoman, District 5
John Murphy, dean of the UTSA College of Architecture, Construction and Planning

6:30 p.m.: Party on the Plaza
Food, cake, music, giveaways and fun for the family.

8 p.m.: Fireworks


Nov 13 2017


03:00 PM - 08:00 PM